The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:45 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:38 am
Posts: 27
Hi All,

I just downloaded DAWS through my local dial-up service (this took about 1 hour, 13 mins :?). Though the installation went through fine, I started getting errors as soon as I booted DAWS. The first error I got said:

digatmos has caused an error in <unknown>
digatmos will now close

I clicked "Ok," and I could see the whole program with a map of the continental US in the background when another error came up reading:

Digital Atmosphere encountered an error: Access violation at address 0053E378 in module 'DIGATMOS.EXE'. Read of address FFFFFFFF.

This same message constantly pops up and overlaps itself. After clicking ok on several overlapped error messages, I could see another message underneath them all that read:

Exception EReadError in module DIGATMOS.EXE at 00014D63. Error reading RichEdit1.Lines.Strings. RichEdit line insertion error

All these errors are probably a result of a faulty download, but it would be a shame to have to spend another hour downloading the same thing over again. Anyone have any ideas as to what I should do?

Thanks in advance!
Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:10 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:38 am
Posts: 27
I downloaded the program again and ran into the same problems, so it may not be a problem with the download after all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:21 am 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 511
What type of computer do you all have, and what version of Windows?

(1) This may be a font problem we can fix... check Start > Settings > ControlPanel > Fonts and see if you have Courier New. If not, this may be the cause and we can remove the font assignment.

(2) Right-click Start, select Explore, and go into your \windows\system32 folder. Right click on riched32.dll and select Properties. Bring up the Version tab. What version is it? We run 5.0.2134.1 here and it runs fine. This could be some sort of version incompatibility with the Windows system files, and it would be fixable.

In a worst case scenario we can fix this by removing the RichEdit component.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:59 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:38 am
Posts: 27
Hi Tim,

I checked both things you mentioned, and here are the results:

First of all, I am running Windows ME.

I do have Courier New font.

I went into the SYSTEM32 folder, and discovered that I didn't have anything entitled: riched32.dll, so I did a quick google search and downloaded this file (it was the exact same version you have). This I placed in the SYSTEM32 folder and tried to run DAWS again with the same result described above.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:15 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:38 am
Posts: 27
Oh, I forgot to answer your question about what computer I have. I'm running a Dell Inspiron 5000e. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:53 pm 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 511
OK, we'll remove the component, which should fix this, and use another one. I remember having trouble before with RichEdit.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group