The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:14 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:55 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Perth, Scotland, UK
I am having problems with the legend datestamp in DA V2.
If I run a script which downloads metar data from a site (either weather.noaa.gov or ww.atmos.albany.edu) and then plots a product, for instance, SLP - I get the following Legend:
Sea Level Pressure SFC 1650-1749Z Undetermined.

If I do the download and plot "by hand" ie clicking the relevant DA buttons, I get the correct legend with date:
Sea Level Pressure SFC 1650-1749Z Sat 07-Mar-09

Is anyone else seeing this?

Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:03 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 11
Yes. I am seeing this as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:31 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:27 pm
Posts: 18
If the importing files from the script have the name in the form YYMMDDHHxxxxx.xxx then you will get the right date and time. I used to use YYYYMMDDHH and this doesn't work, it would be useful if the 8 character search could also include the 10 character option to pick up date and time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Date stamp
PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 7:30 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:27 pm
Posts: 18
These codes are available for writing file name date and time in scripts - this copied from the old WS manual:
Inserting current times
Time tokens may be inserted into any command, which will be replaced with the current
date and/or time when the script is executed. This allows you, for instance, to export maps
with filenames named by date/time. The time tokens are as follows. Each will produce a
two-digit result. To show a full date/time, just concatenate them together, e.g.
@YYZ@MMZ@DDZ@HHZ@MMZ. Characters of course may be inserted between any
time token.
@FFZ UTC year (4 digits) @FFZ Local year (4 digits)
@YYZ UTC year (2 digits) @YYL Local year (2 digits)
@MMZ UTC month @MML Local month
@DDZ UTC day @DDL Local day
@HHZ UTC hour @HHL Local hour
@NNZ UTC minute @NNL Local minute


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:59 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:55 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Perth, Scotland, UK
Thank you. Using time tokens works.

Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 6:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:55 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Perth, Scotland, UK
I am seeing the "Undetermined" again. This has been with the last few versions. I am currently using V2.06.
An example of the script I am using is:

load,c:\daequidata\maps\scotland.dmf
download, http://weather.noaa.gov/pub/data/observations/metar/cycles/@HZ.TXT ,c:\aadaws\@YYZ@MMZ@DDZ@HHZalbw.wmo
ingest,c:\aadaws\@YYZ@MMZ@DDZ@HHZalbw.wmo
analyze,CONT CINT=1 LINE=2 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\daequidata\output\scotbar.jpg
erase

Of great interest is that if I then use File>Import Specfic File from the menu to manually import the data file created by the original script and then plot SLP from the menu bar, then the correct date appears instaed of "Undetermined"

Is anyone else seeing this?
Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:27 pm
Posts: 18
Yes - I'm seeing the same problem again.

Using YYMMDDHH etc for input files did work before, but not any more.

Cheers,
Ian.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 7:38 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:27 pm
Posts: 18
Yes - I'm seeing the same problem again.

Using YYMMDDHH etc for input script files did work before, but not any more.

Loading them as a set of files outside the script does work.

Cheers,
Ian.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:02 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:55 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Perth, Scotland, UK
I have managed to get rid of the "Undetermined" legend on plots with 2.07. Go to File>Preferences>Annotations and then check the "Disable legend date information" box in the middle of the panel. The plot product type and time span will still be shown.
Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group