The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:19 am 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 3
I'm using DA v2.06 (evaluation version) and recently updated DIGATMOS.STN with additional stations. When I select "Recompile station tables", a message is returned asking "Where is DIGATMOS.STN?" and asks where the LIL location identifier file is located. The problem is, there is nothing to select on this prompt to tell DA where the file is located. In my case, the DIGATMOS.STN file is located in the default directory. Does anyone have a suggestion for how I can get DA to recognize that the station listing was updated so I can plot these stations?

Thanks,

Sean


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:16 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Mid-Wales
Have you tried File - Station Tables - Import Custom Table

This allows you to find where the .STN file and Location Identifier table .CSV are located.

DA is setup to show only access to import default LIL table but try using the 'import custom table' option and you can import the old STN or the new LIL tables after you have downloaded the updated table, as you have done.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 1:15 am 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 3
Thanks for the advice and explanation, Peter. That seems to have done the trick.

Sean


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: problems here...
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:00 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:08 pm
Posts: 36
Pete and Sean:

I've downloaded the updated files (using the custom import option) into v2.06. When I try to generate a map centered with one of the new id's (KRYW, for example), digatmos cannot find the station. Yet, when I open the new digatmos.stn file, KRYW is there. Sean: when you try to generate a new map using KRYW or say, KDZB, does your program recognize the station id? I can't do anything with the recompile stations option as it asks for a path to the file, but provides no means of doing so.

Heatwave


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:40 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Mid-Wales
Use the File - Station Tables

select Import default LIL table and DA will recompile the tables OR select Import Custom Table and it asks for where the tables are located.
Select which table to recompile and DA recomplies the selected table beit LIL.csv or digatmos.stn

Mine is doing it right as I type this reply.

I do not know what the File - Recompile Station Tables does anymore and suspect it is a hangover from earlier versions and has been replaced with 'Station Tables'

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:58 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:08 pm
Posts: 36
Pete...when you go to the create map part of the program, and ask it to make a map centered on , say, KRYW or K0F2 (new id's), does your program recognize these id's? Mine says it doesn't recognize the id's even though when I look at the new file from Wally Mayo of updated id's in wordpad, the stations are there!

Heatwave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Mid-Wales
OK I will start again after sending a reply and the whole thing was lost.
FYI: I am on a rolling ship in the North Sea with intermitent internet at 3-4Kb/s at best so here goes again....

You have recomplied station tables either Digiatmos.stn or locationindentifier.csv.
Download Synop data

Go to File - Station Tables - Audit last data import for missing stations

Look through the list to make sure your station is NOT on the list.
That tells you that there is data from the station in the download.

Open up the map section and generate a map centred on for example KRYW with a scale of 400nm.
As you can see I have done the above and generated a map of southern Texas as I would expect. In the middle is station KRYW.

You might have to adjust the data plot crowding decrease or increase to show the required station plot, but this works in my DA 2.06.

The other stations you mentioned, I agree DA does't recognise them and that could be for many reasons as it doesn't say they are missing when using the 'Audit last data import....' Therefore DA isn't seeing them in the STN or LIL tables either but that's another issue and above my head.

Regards


Attachments:
NewPicture100.jpg
NewPicture100.jpg [ 79.33 KiB | Viewed 3935 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 3:29 am 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 3
@Heatwave: I don't have those specific stations in my digatmos.stn file, as I only updated it to add certain stations in my area. However, following the steps Peter provided allowed me to successfully get these stations recognized by DA, as well as use them with the "generate map" feature as you are attempting.

Sean


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group