Tell me what bug fixes you want

This is the place to get help with Digital Atmosphere, suggest improvements, and get tips.
hoevenm
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Contact:

Bug on zooming in/out on map

Post by hoevenm »

This bug can be reproduced (running 1.0g). Anyone experiencing the same?

* Start DAWS
* Select United States as map
* Select zoom out (magnifier with minus-sign). This is the first one
* Do again a zoom out *WHILE* the above zoom out (the first) is still drawing
* Do again a zoom out *WHILE* the first zoom is still drawing

Messed up map results. This applies to all pre-defined maps (United States taken as example).

Work around:wait until the zoom in/out is finished. When waiting until the magnifying process is finished, no problems with the maps.
Solution: Maybe make the magnify button in the menu unavailable/unclickable when a zoom in/out is currently processing?

Image

Wally Mayo
Senior Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Roanoke, VA
Contact:

Post by Wally Mayo »

Bug report:
If a scheduling script goes for a file on the net, like....
...
download,http://www.hamweather.net/weather/asus0 ... fronts.dat
import,c:\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.dat
product,wxp,0,fronts
download,http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/sao/@Y@ ... urface.dat
download,http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/dat ... rface2.dat
import,c:\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\surf*.dat
product,plf,0,surface plots
...

Everything FREEZES after every DOWNLOAD command, until some other action like ERASE is done. Then the next step commences ... until another DOWNLOAD is invoked. Then everything stops again.


This has been mentioned before, but net operations with scheduler scripts is fairly important.

jrader
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:40 pm

Post by jrader »

I'm now not able to switch between map zoom levels. If I zoom in or have DAW generate a map of a smaller area, it works fine. However, if I recenter the map, zoom out or try to have DAW generate a map of a larger area then the program crashes and self terminates.

Also, I just learned that DAW does not play well with DA 2000 when trying to run both on the same machine. At least this is the case on my win98 box. Running one keeps the other from properly starting up. It appears there is some sort of resource conflict or DLL conflict. When DA 2000 is running and I start up DAW, I get a message the DAW preformed an illegal function and then I get a DAW caused an win32 error #87. If DAW is running and I start DA 2000 then DA 2000 causes the win32 error #87. The 2 applications are in seperate directories.

I no longer see error 998 problems when viewing Nexrad III products but now instead I get error 87 problems. DAW does not crash after this error in this case but does become instable and inconsistant in it's behavior.

The "Inflate error" issue for viewing nexrad III products has not gone away but it at least allows "some" data to be viewed. I beleive this error is due to the assynchronos behavior in downloading files over the internet. It is impossible to guarantee that a file is completely in place and thus retreiveable for error free use on these public servers. My guess is that this error is caused by downloading files that are either incomplete or that somehow get garbled in the download process. Neither are something you can do much about. I have downloaded many ISO image files that have to be downloaded again due to MD5 checksum mismatches. Sometimes I'm even smart nough to check this BEFORE I burn the ISO image to CD. :) I suppose it would be a lot to ask for the industry to adopt something like providing MD5 checksum info for mere weather data. :wink: I guess if it was important and cost effective, someone would ahve done it by now. On the other hand, MD5 checksum tests do not tell you if the data is good; rather it just says that the file downloaded matches what the ftp/web server has.

Wally Mayo
Senior Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Roanoke, VA
Contact:

Post by Wally Mayo »

Just for info or comparison - On Windows XP I've had zero problems running both DA2000 1.0a and DAWS, for some time. But 98 and XP are different enough, I don't doubt your experience at all.

As to the newer and MUCH rarer error with radar inflates, I notice that no matter how many times I download the data, it comes up the same error for the same site ... until the next 6-minute cycle gives new data for that site. Then it's fine again. That leads me to think that the problem is not in the transfer to us. I suppose it's possible that the archiving of the 6-minute data on the net is the corruption point, which not much can be done about at DAWS end.

skyview
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 5:43 pm
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Contact:

Post by skyview »

Automatic downloading of data, please!!! Need my maps to self generate, and without autodownloading of data, cant do that.

REALLY NEED THIS TO FUNCTION.

Tim Vasquez
Administrator
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm

Post by Tim Vasquez »

Thanks, just to let you all know I've got all these errors slated for programming work. As far as the multiple map mess, all I can say is don't make more maps while drawing is already going on. I may need to lock the cursor to prevent this or provide a cancel button.

Tim

hoevenm
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Contact:

New bug-report thread needed?

Post by hoevenm »

Is this thread closed now, and should a new thread with bug-reports be opened?

As we are in path 1.0i right now, I think it's for keeping a tidy overview better to create a new thread. Agree?

This is the one I want to be added to the next patch.

After a installation I need to add the following to the digatmos.mnu, to enable displaying the values in Celsius.

Temperature
Temperature (deg C) |CONT CINT=1 COLOR=200,0,0 DASH TEMP
Moisture
Dewpoint (deg C) |CONT CINT=1 COLOR=0,150,0 DWPT

Post Reply