The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:52 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Posts: 19
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Hi,

at first, apologies for the big picture. But this makes my question more clear.

When I plot stations at a 80% density, and afterwards plot temperature iso-lines (with Analysis menu -> Temperature -> Celsius), I notice the red iso-lines do not really reflect reality. For example, see Northwest Russia (east of Finland) where temps are at the 30-s. Yet the red temperature line indicate a 22/24 degrees. Same in Ukraine and southern Russia: stations plot of lower twenties. Yet a red line of 30 degrees is plotted almost through those stations.

I'm suspecting that the averaging of the red line is far to loose. It's all levelled out in the map, although the real station plots vary a lot regarding temperatures.

My question is: can I set some parameter(s) so the red line will far more closely follow the real temperatures?

PS. Analysis type is set to "Nearest neighbor"

Thanks for responses.

(edited: picture removed. Picture was on my server, but that one just crashed last nigth :()


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:34 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Posts: 19
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
well, guess I was the only one. It is indeed a setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:52 pm 
In file, preferences, analysis tab, reduce the smoothing number. This will more closely match actual observations...the isolines look more pointy, however.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 7:37 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Posts: 19
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
I was a bit confused, because when you select "Nearest Neighbor" there is nothing to set on smoothing (these options are grayed out, not accessible). I first have to change the analysis type to something else than Nearest neighbor, then set the smoothing, and then (if I wish) re-set it to Nearest Neighbor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 4:05 am 
Hoevenm,

I'm not having this trouble with the latest version, nothing is grayed out regarding nearest neighbour..at least nothing out of the ordinary. I did notice some isoline cubes using a smoothing setting of zero over the North Sea; however, with the latest synoptic obs. This seems a bit strange.

Don't know what to say except my m patch has no limitations regarding smoothing reduction with nearest neighbour, excluding the aforementioned cubes/squares/rectangles. Sorry my system isn't acting as yours:(

Pat


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:00 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Posts: 19
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Okay, thanks. There is a tiny work around for me: switch to another analysis type, adjust smoothing to the desired value, and set analysis type to nearest neighbor again.

So, not a big problem, but it took me some time to find out I have to change the analysis type to open the smooting settings (at least in my case).


Maarten


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:48 pm 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 527
hoevenm - it would help if you could post what version of the software you have. I am guessing you have something before V1.0m, and a lot of analysis functions were fixed in V1.0m.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 9:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:11 am
Posts: 19
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
pfff my deepest apologies :shock:

I am running 1.0m, and I see it is not grayed out at all. Perfectly working! Dont know what I was thinking... Duh

Sorry about this noise


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 11:56 pm 
sorry I typed m patch:(


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group