Post requests for Digital Atmosphere V1.2 work

This is the place to get help with Digital Atmosphere, suggest improvements, and get tips.
britbob
Senior Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Post by britbob »

Yes, I would also like to see .png support for exporting, as it`s a popular format. The gif palette can look awful after export, whether it corrupts the image somehow?

Grib support, particularly when it comes to scripting. This would be a huge asset for the program. Being able to write up scripts, and export model data would make this program the ultimate all round weather tool :)

Some customization of the hurricane model tracks, being able the adjust the plot thicknesses.

Not sure how much of a challenge it would be, but the placement of the isopleth labels in the isopleths instead of at the end would be awesome.

wxforecaster
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Contact:

Post by wxforecaster »

britbob wrote: Grib support, particularly when it comes to scripting. This would be a huge asset for the program. Being able to write up scripts, and export model data would make this program the ultimate all round weather tool :)
DITO!

Al Pietrycha
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by Al Pietrycha »

My wish list in step with observational needs:

-Update the generic background maps and feature overlays to
1) Add Broomfield County, Colorado
2) Correct the outline of Denver County, Colorado to reflect the needed expansion for DIA
3) I-39 is currently missing in Illinois
4) The latest three legs of E-470 are missing around the east side of Denver, Colorado
5) Properly reflect coastlines and related islands

-Use decimal degrees in the station file to accurately depict a surface station’s location. In DAWS’ current version scientifically accurate time-to-space conversions are not possible. This is a big request but I’ll offer to convert the CONUS stations if others would take on additional corners of the globe.

-Allow the ability to script the overlay profiler data in with the RAOB and 88D VAD data at user define heights.

-It would be great if DAWS would support station IDs that are longer than 4 characters. More and more third order sites are using five character Ids that are waiting to be plotted in DAWS.

-Bring back the “cross-hair” as in Dig Atmo 2000 to denote missing sky cover associated with third order observations; CWOP/APRSWXNET, etc.

-Bring back warning overlays as in Dig Atmo 2000 via scripting but this time
1) Improve the intelligence whereby DAWS will stop plotting a watch/warning based on warning expiration times; decoding VTEC would be ideal
2) Allow the user to assign colors of their choice to denote various warnings

-Allow the ability to change the outline color of shapefiles.

-The return of .png extensions as was allowed in Dig Atmo 2000.

--Al

Weasel

Post by Weasel »

Tim,

I would like to see gradient fills added in again.

Remember how great the maps looked using this feature? :)

Image


Pat

britbob
Senior Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Post by britbob »

Would it be possible to have some script support so that we can import radar images?

packman
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:39 am

Post by packman »

These may be tricky, but if you don't ask, you don't get :wink:

1) Is the 30*30 grid of points in grid.txt the maximum resolution that DAWS works at, or is there an internal representation with higher resolution, e.g. 50*50 or 100*100 that could be output on request?

2) Following on from that, would it be possible to specify the spacing used in the grid.txt file. So you could request a grid with data spaced every 25 miles, or (preferably for me) with data spaced every 'x' degrees/minutes?

3) Would it be possible to allow basemaps to be defined by lat/long coordinates, e.g. lower left at 50N 5W, upper right at 56N 3E? Or possibly centre lat/long with the horizontal and vertical axes lengths defined in decimal degrees and minutes, e.g. centre at 53N 3W with a 10 degree vertical axis and 6 degree horizontal axis (giving a map from 48N-58N and 6W-0W)?

Hendricusl
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:29 pm
Location: Caribou, Maine USA
Contact:

US - Canadian Radar Mosaic

Post by Hendricusl »

Great addition by adding the Canadian radars. One of the problems we have is mosaic’ing US and Canadian radars together. When you do this the areas that overlap with echoes turn into ugly colors. If you could add the same kind of logic of filtering overlapping echoes as you do with US Nexrad sites it would allow us that live near the US - Canadian border to have a high quality mosaic.

To be clear of what I am asking for, is a way to select both US and Canadian radars so that they can be mosaic’ed together and have the technique as described below from the manual apply:


"When multiple radar stations are selected, Digital Atmosphere will automatically mosaic the radar data by only plotting a polygon when it originates from the nearest radar site. This way echoes are not overlapped by data from radars farther away."

Below is a sample of the issue. First the US only radar Plot. Then the Canadian only radar plot and then lastly the combined mosaic. Note what happens to the colors in the overlap areas.

Image
Image
Image

FlyBoyArt
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:52 pm
Location: Florida

Suggestions from a Pilot

Post by FlyBoyArt »

1) How about adding the feature to reduce the crowding on the plotting of cities like you do with Data Plots?
2) IHow about adding the feature to only plot data for MVFR, IFR and LOW IFR and not plot for VFR conditions? (in some kind of color countouring like you find on aviation 'current conditions' maps?)
3) Some way to quickly pop up a METAR or TAF for one station by keying it its ICAO code would be nice.
4) It would be cool to be able to 'hover' the mouse over a station plot and have the full decoded data pop up for METAR and TAF.
5) Being able to mask out or filter the radar data to get rid of the ground clutter when the radar is in clear air mode would be great.
6) Being able to have DAWS 'live' in the background and automatically grab radar and data on a predetermined schedule and be able to animate this data would be great.

-Art Schumer, Florida

theonlysilentbob
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by theonlysilentbob »

There are some really good suggestions here!

I took a look and did not see it mentioned, but the ability to manually geo-reference images and import geo-tiffs or pre-referenced files would also be nice.

Also, the glitch with the shape file colour not being controlled in the menu would also be a nice fix, but no worries.

Tom

theonlysilentbob
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by theonlysilentbob »

Data layers would also be nice so you would only have to remove certain layers rather than having to clear everything and start from scratch.

Post Reply