The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: TXT# command
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:33 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Jeff,

Regarding the use of the TXT command. I was a little confused by the placement of the text. Which line number on the screen are we talking about?

That said, after reading the paragraph this does not work when using print, can I assume it does not work with savs either? If it doesn`t display the text with an exported image, do we have another annotation option?

Thank you for the recent update. Apart from the double command box issue, everything is running smoothly.

I put together a batch script this evening, and tried my first auto run. Lol, can you believe it but the grib download was timing out. Seems as though the source ftp server was down, great timing! A few hours later I gave it another shot and had success. I`m a long way off from perfecting it but it worked!!

Regards,
Bob.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:42 pm
Posts: 298
>Jeff,

Hey Bob,

>
>Regarding the use of the TXT command. I was a little confused by the >placement of the text. Which line number on the screen are we talking >about?

It *should* start from the top of the drawing area and work down, line by line. If you look at some of the other Command Macros, you should see how it is done.

>
>That said, after reading the paragraph this does not work when using >print, can I assume it does not work with savs either? If it doesn`t >display the text with an exported image, do we have another annotation >option?

The PRNT, SAVS, ANIM & things like that, all work from the contents of the display area. If it is not there, it won't be anywhere else.

>
>Thank you for the recent update. Apart from the double command box >issue, everything is running smoothly.

Yes, I know (long sigh...) because if it's semingly random behaviour on different machines, I may go back to nothing at all. My position is that no data is better than bad data.

>
>I put together a batch script this evening, and tried my first auto run. Lol, >can you believe it but the grib download was timing out. Seems as >though the source ftp server was down, great timing! A few hours later I >gave it another shot and had success. I`m a long way off from perfecting >it but it worked!!

GREAT!!! I'm glad to see you are having success with WINGRIDDS.

Good luck,
Jeff

>
>Regards,
>Bob.
_________________
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Thanks Jeff,

Still having some issues with the txt command, or rather it`s placement in the display. For example If I use TXT4 it ends up halfway down the display, TXT18 ends up over the top of the left corner legend.

Just wondering, would it be difficult to increase the naming scheme for the SAVS commands? Currently we can save/export images using four letters, however this is quite restrictive especially when running large batches and could become confusing having lots of four lettered png files!!

It would be easier for us to have more letters available to use so we can use a common name (gfs850tempday10.png for example), just like when saving something in your windows desktop.

Regards,
Bob.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:42 pm
Posts: 298
Bob,

FYI - you can only place text up to 9 lines down from the top. The TXT# command is only 4 characters long so a command like TXT18 would not work.

try the following:

Issue these commands, one at a time

TXT1 Line1
TXT2 Line2
TXT3 Line3

You could continue that down to line 9. Each line entry should be one under the other at it's repective line. If it is not, please include a screen shot of the problem.

Thanks,
Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group