The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:07 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Data Plot Crowding
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Oregon
Anybody know how to set the Data Plot Crowding value from a script?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 11
Ok... 2 1/2 years later, I have the same question: How can I set station plot density in a script?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 11
No one has ever wanted to do this in an automated script station model??!! I don't believe it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:23 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:59 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Houston, Texas
I don't think you can set data point crowding via a script. "plf" is the standard data plot product code, and there does not seem to be a parameter that controls density. The format I use in my scripts is "product,plf,tmf,0,plot", which basically tells the program to plot ("plot") standard data points ("plf") using fahrenheit ("tmf"); I do not know what function (if any) the "0" serves. I tried changing up its value to different numbers, but it made no difference. Data plot crowding always came out the same, which, in turn, is controlled by the Data Plot Crowding slider in the DA control panel. "Product" in the script simply tells the program to use the designated product code ("plf").

It may be possible to use custom surface plot model using the SPCPLOTMODEL command, but, if so, it's beyond my meager scripting ability to explain.

J. Lanza


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:56 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:31 pm
Posts: 1
jim wrote:
Anybody know how to set the Data Plot Crowding value from a script?


Jim, try this:

http://www.wd5eae.org/WG_DAP.html

I wrote and tested this against the Pro version. I'll need a Standard version user to tell me it if works for the Standard edition. Also, if there's anything else that someone wants scriptable, let me know and I'll see what I can do.

Steve

P.S. Thanks Tim and Shannon and thanks for the great software!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Plot Crowding
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:42 am 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:53 am
Posts: 1
Anybody has the script which steveg mentioned for Data Plot Crowding value because the link http://www.wd5eae.org/WG_DAP.html isn't working


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Plot Crowding
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:06 am
Posts: 56
PRODUCT,PLF,TMC,DWC,0,SURFACE PLOTS

I don't know if this is what was posted on that website, this came from the board.
However, I have played with this and so far have not been able to control plots from a script. Maybe Tim will be able to answer this question?
P19


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Plot Crowding
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:56 pm 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 527
I didn't know there was a request for this, but unfortunately I don't get into the scripting forums much. The capability has been added and will take effect with V3.10b.

__________________________________________________________________________________
Added DENSITY scripting command. This controls the Data Plot Crowding slider bar. Usage is DENSITY,position where position equals 0, all the way left (sparse) to 100, all the way right (plot all data).
__________________________________________________________________________________

Definitely e-mail me directly for feature requests as the forums are kind of an indirect method of contact.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Plot Crowding
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:06 am
Posts: 56
And a big thanks to Tim for adding this now I don't have to play with the slider for density at alt, then surf and different sized maps!!!!!
And when it is changed that change will stay in place until you change it again, by script or slider!!! Took me a while to figure out where the density,# went in script...for those like me, here it is:

ERASE
analyze,FILL COLOR=167:000:255 FILS=0 GRTN=-10 FILL COLOR=249:000:249 FILS=0 GRTN=-20 degf TEMP h700
analyze,FILL COLOR=003:234:249 FILS=0 GRTN=15 FILL COLOR=000:088:255 FILS=0 GRTN=10 FILL COLOR=255:255:230 FILS=0 GRTN=5 FILL COLOR=039:000:255 FILS=0 GRTN=0
analyze,FILL COLOR=255:168:000 FILS=0 GRTN=35 FILL COLOR=252:218:001 FILS=0 GRTN=30 FILL COLOR=210:249:003 FILS=0 GRTN=25 FILL COLOR=104:253:046 FILS=0 GRTN=20
analyze,OVER FILL COLOR=214:115:134 FILS=0 GRTN=55 FILL COLOR=183:050:069 FILS=0 GRTN=50 FILL COLOR=190:026:001 FILS=0 GRTN=45 FILL COLOR=255:099:000 FILS=0 GRTN=40
analyze,cont cint=5 color=255:100:100
ANALYZE,cont cint=60 line=2 hght h700
density,100
product,plf,700,plot
density,84
STAMP

P19


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group