The Weather Forecasting Forum
http://www.weathergraphics.com/forum/

Radar Echo Summary
http://www.weathergraphics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1186
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Alan [ Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:24 am ]
Post subject:  Radar Echo Summary

How can I script the old "Radar Echo Summary" into maps? The download location is no longer listed in the data retrieval window, and I'm not even sure that Digital Atmosphere still supports it.

I would use the new radar selection, but I don't need high-resolution radar data for this particular map.

Author:  wxwatcher [ Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:25 am ]
Post subject: 

Alan, are you still looking for the Radar Echo Summary Charts? That map is still available at NWS website. Here's a script to download using DigATMEquinox and auto print using Irfanview (great shareware program). You can't view it with DA but you can download it and print it.

set,5,c:\Weather\Surface
Download,http://weather.noaa.gov/pub/fax/QAUA00.TIF,$$5\LatestRadar.tif
Spawn c:\IrfanView\i_view32 $$5\latestradar.tif /silent /rotate_l /resize_long=2100 /aspectratio /print,,1

Author:  Alan [ Wed Mar 21, 2007 1:14 am ]
Post subject: 

Yes, however, I remember this being part of DA. It was the 'old' radar method before individual radar sites were supported.

Thanks,

Alan

Author:  Ross [ Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Echo summary

I use this script.
download,[url]http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/rad/@Y@M@D@H_rad.wmo,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\my_data\rcmRadar.dat
ingest,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\my_data\rcmRadar.dat
product,rad,plot

If that is what you are looking for.

Ross

Author:  alona [ Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:06 pm ]
Post subject:  when trying this script igot an error>>>

could not find digatmos.ccl in location RadarSetup

how to fix this please?
ty

Author:  Wally Mayo [ Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

Whoa ... wait a minute. Are you getting DAWS to plot RCM radar? I thought that dropped out after DA2000? I tried your script with no errors, but nothing plots.

Author:  Ross [ Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:31 pm ]
Post subject:  rcm data

I use this site.
you do need to add a file from an older version of da I think it is DIGATMOS.CCL not sure though.
The download doesn't always give rcm data, I download hourly at at 50 minutes past the hour and that usually gets good rcm data.

download,[url]http://meteora.ucsd.edu/weather/observations/radar/@Y@M@D@H_rad.wmo,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\my_data\rcmRadar.dat
ingest,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\my_data\rcmRadar.dat
product,rad,plot

Ross

Author:  wxenthus [ Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:17 pm ]
Post subject: 

So how can we fix this? I am also wanting radar data for the US (like Wally is doing), but I'm receiving the same error. Is there another way, or is there a way to download the missing variable to make it work?
Thanks - Mike

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/