The Weather Forecasting Forum
http://www.weathergraphics.com/forum/

Running script winsock error 10053
http://www.weathergraphics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1339
Page 1 of 1

Author:  synoptic [ Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:06 am ]
Post subject:  Running script winsock error 10053

I did run this script on a windowsME and XP machine and I did not have any errors but I resently did put DigAtm Eq v1.12 on a windows server 2003 machine and I now get an error winsock error # 10053 Connection aborted. Any one that can tell me what that can be, I now it somehow holds the FTP connection between script and domain server where the maps needs to go to. But I have no solution till now.

Winsock happends when transfering maps,
upload,[url]ftp://XXXXX:XXXXX@ftp.XXXXXXXX/public_html/XXXXX/map1.gif,C:\XXXXXXX\map1.gif[/url]

Hope someone knows what to do.
Marcel

Author:  synoptic [ Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:42 pm ]
Post subject: 

Ok, found out one thing myself, in the server 2003 the firewall of windows blocks something. I did set a exeption rule for digatmos.exe to pass the firewall but some how the firewall blocks some part in the middle of ftransporting by ftp and gives the winsock error. When I turn off the firewall, problems are solved and all works fine so what exeption rule do I need to make for good ftp, what port uses digatmos? or what else do i need to set in the firewall?

Author:  synoptic [ Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

Finaly fixed so it seems!
When running Windows Server 2003 just a rule off digatmos in the Windows Firewall is not enough. You need to add a second rule TCP Port 23 needs to be open to. After some testing it looks like this solved the error off Winsock Error 10053.

Need it use it!

Author:  synoptic [ Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:16 am ]
Post subject: 

This is bad I hoped I solved the error but somehow I get it today again.
Seems I need to turn off the firewall to get a good connection. But where do I get a good Server firewall?

Author:  synoptic [ Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

I finaly have the right settings found to run digatmos.exe on a windows server 2003 system. I installed a new firewall Comodo Firewall Pro for servers and disabled the windows firewall. Now digatmos.exe runs without any error for ftp transmition. I'm realy happy now.
I'm sorry I was thinking the error was in the script I made so this tread now seems on the wrong place.

Marcel

Author:  wxforecaster [ Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:36 pm ]
Post subject: 

What did you do to correct this program? It just started to do it on my WIN2000 platform about 3 weeks ago. Thanks so much. The error gets kinda annoying!

Author:  synoptic [ Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

If you use the windows firewall Disable it and find an other one. The windows firewall stops the connection even when you have a rule for it.
I did install Comodo free firewall and all works fine now.
One problem with that comodo I did not find out how to get Remote connection pas by. But thats only when you want to use an other computer to login to the server.

Author:  wxforecaster [ Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:10 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks for your help. It was weird. It looks like main computer was on for like 6 days and it messed something up in the server. Once i did a reset on the main computer, my DAWS computer uploaded images just fine! Weird i know!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/