The Weather Forecasting Forum
http://www.weathergraphics.com/forum/

Importing data from url by script
http://www.weathergraphics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1722
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Sirlight87 [ Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:43 am ]
Post subject:  Importing data from url by script

Hi, I've the professional version.

I've a script like this

download,http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/sao/@Y@M@D@H_sao.wmo,c:\da\dati\@Y@M@D@H_sao.wmo
import,c:\da\dati\@Y@M@D@H_sao.wmo

because I need to download every hour for processing my scripts.
Unluckly, I observe that if I run the script manually there is no problem but if I insert it in the scheduler then there is no data importing

What's wrong?

Thanks

Author:  Sirlight87 [ Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Importing data from url by script

however, I observe that in the prompt status I read " Importing workchart (c:\da\dati\@Y@M@D@H_sao.wmo)" why?

it's evident that the command is not understood by the programm... there is a specific non manual command for importing generic file (such as .sao ) ???

thanks...

Author:  Sirlight87 [ Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Importing data from url by script

another idea is that there is no cleaning for old data. Is an "erase" sufficient or i need another command?

Author:  Budgie [ Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Importing data from url by script

"ERASE" is always enough on my scripts but I don't store the data in date/time stamped files as you do.

Here's the download part of my main script:
Quote:
REMOVE
ERASE
LOAD,C:\Users\weather\AppData\DigitalAtmosphere\ne_atlantic.dmf
download,http://weather.admin.niu.edu/data/@Y@M@D@H.sao,C:\Users\weather\AppData\DigitalAtmosphere\data\metar.wmo
download,http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/@Y@M@D@I.syn,C:\Users\weather\AppData\DigitalAtmosphere\data\synop.wmo
download,http://ftp.hb-yacht.ch/ASXX21.@D@S00,C:\Users\weather\AppData\DigitalAtmosphere\data\front.wmo
download,http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/upa/@Y@M@D@X.upa,C:\Users\weather\AppData\DigitalAtmosphere\data\upperair.wmo
ingest,C:\Users\weather\AppData\DigitalAtmosphere\data\*.wmo

Author:  Sirlight87 [ Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Importing data from url by script

thank you for the answer

I observe that you use an "ingest" in place of "import" for external data! Could be that the problem?

There is a remove, too. What about remove?

Author:  Budgie [ Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Importing data from url by script

The "ingest" is telling the script to use all the of the above .wmo data files that I've just downloaded.

The REMOVE command is clearing any maps that are on the screen as my full script used three different maps during the run.
So I REMOVE the map, ERASE the data and then LOAD the ne_atlantic map before starting the downloads.

Author:  Sirlight87 [ Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Importing data from url by script

thanks a lot, it was very useful!
it works! :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/