Re: temperature and dew point scripts

Strictly for sharing scripts used in Digital Atmosphere and getting assistance from other users.
texsky
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm

Post by texsky »

Marcel,

There's a bug in DAWS that prohibits generating scripts of negative values using color contours. However, with some creativity involved, there's also a workaround of sorts. You might want to try the following and see if it meets your needs. You can always modify it to suit your own desires. It works from -65C to about +22C.

Code: Select all

ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=127:255:0 LSTN=60 OVER FILL COLOR=206:255:0 LSTN=63 OVER FILL COLOR=255:255:0 LSTN=66 OVER FILL COLOR=255:230:0 LSTN=69 OVER FILL COLOR=255:204:0 LSTN=72 OVER FILL COLOR=255:174:0 LSTN=75 OVER FILL COLOR=255:153:0 LSTN=78 OVER FILL COLOR=255:127:0 LSTN=81 OVER FILL COLOR=255:79:0 LSTN=84 OVER FILL COLOR=255:0:0 LSTN=87 SADC=1:65 STOR=1 DEGC WCHL
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=158:0:255 LSTN=30 OVER FILL COLOR=102:0:255 LSTN=33 OVER FILL COLOR=0:0:255 LSTN=36 OVER FILL COLOR=0:74:255 LSTN=39 OVER FILL COLOR=0:115:255 LSTN=42 OVER FILL COLOR=0:163:255 LSTN=45 OVER FILL COLOR=0:204:255 LSTN=48 OVER FILL COLOR=0:230:255 FILS=0 LSTN=51 OVER FILL COLOR=0:255:255 LSTN=54 OVER FILL COLOR=0:255:179 LSTN=57 SADC=1:65 STOR=1 DEGC WCHL 
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=80:0:80 LSTN=0 OVER FILL COLOR=95:0:95 LSTN=3 OVER FILL COLOR=115:0:115 LSTN=6 OVER FILL COLOR=130:0:130 LSTN=9 OVER FILL COLOR=153:0:153 LSTN=12 OVER FILL COLOR=179:0:179 LSTN=15 OVER FILL COLOR=204:0:204 LSTN=18 OVER FILL COLOR=230:0:230 LSTN=21 OVER FILL COLOR=255:0:255 LSTN=24 OVER FILL COLOR=209:0:255 LSTN=27 SADC=1:65 STOR=1 DEGC WCHL
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=3 LSTN=0 COLOR=100:100:250 DASH DEGC WCHL
hth,
Bob
synoptic
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Almere, netherlands
Contact:

Post by synoptic »

This one is good thanks for your help it even display's the colors the way I want.
Great job,

Marcel
synoptic
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Almere, netherlands
Contact:

Display HILO

Post by synoptic »

I made a same scripting for Temp and works fine, is there an easy way to let it go higher then +32C? can that be done by GRTN?

There seems to be one major problem with displaying HILO, HILO is not displaying - temps but only + temp can that be changed or should I remove HILO from the script?

Sorry I ask this all but I'm new to all this and I think many of you now an awnser.

Thanks already
Marcel
texsky
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm

Post by texsky »

Marcel,

The negative sign doesn't show when using the NMC font. This is a bug of sorts.

Yes, the script can be made to increase by adding higher GRTN values.

hth,
Bob
synoptic
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Almere, netherlands
Contact:

Font change

Post by synoptic »

Hello Bob,

I hope you can tell me how I can change NMC because I realy need displaying HILO with - temps. I tryed NMCN and NMCY but thats not helping. In the help file (default is in Preferences>Analysis) can I change there something to get the right result? What should I change then?

Thanks,
Marcel
synoptic
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Almere, netherlands
Contact:

Post by synoptic »

Ok I found the option to stop NMC display but my font is verry small now, what do I need to do to get it big again???

Marcel
texsky
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm

Post by texsky »

Marcel,

Go to Preferences->Styles and look for three entries named "General Isopleth/Labels" and "Low Pressure Areas" & "High Pressure Areas". Off to the right there are values that you can change for both the font size and font type. After you've made your changes, be sure to save them before exiting the Styles section.

hth,
Bob
synoptic
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Almere, netherlands
Contact:

Post by synoptic »

Hello bob,

Thanks for helping me again with finding where to do make changes.
There seems to be one problem then If I change the "General Isopleth/Labels" my text under the HILO wil get bigger but the lines that have temp data become biger also, I can't get them sepperate?

Marcel
synoptic
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Almere, netherlands
Contact:

Post by synoptic »

Ok, I changed them a litle and made the HILO smaller so data is on the right place. I think I have to let this be till maybe it can be done sepperate in a newer version, maybe some for Tim to build in.

Thanks,
Marcel
texsky
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm

Post by texsky »

Marcel,

Yes, unfortunately the isopleth labels also change when making HILO font adjustments because the two are connected as far as DAWS is concerned. This is something that Tim should separate in future versions.

hth,
Bob
Post Reply