The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wind Barb (produce less)
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 5:52 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
http://www.wxforecaster.com/DAWS/meso_dew_vect.gif

Is there a way to have less wind barbs on here using a script command?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 5:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
Hello

I have tried it but did not succeeded. I used this command and some others in connection with GRTN. I always got everything so my guess is that you cannot combine them. It is one of the wishes I want to place on the forum. But if someone else found a way.......

Greetings

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wind barb plot
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 6:18 pm 
Actually, this is how the barbs should plot. I do this allot with my charts. I don't really think plotting less barbs would improve the analysis because you need to see how the winds are doing.

Randy


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 7:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
I just think they are too cluttered. I just want a little less on there. Maybe there could be a command that Tim could write.. Kinda like a clutter command.. 100 % would = all and like 50% equals half and so on. Because that would work with Plotting stations plots.

The reason for this is because i want Less Wind Barbs but all the Plots like here:

http://www.wxforecaster.com/DAWS/meso.gif

That is why i keep the Clutter at 100%!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wind barb plots
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 9:07 pm 
I understand. Do you plot the wind barbs with your station plots? If so, that is why it is so cluttered. You might use fewer station plots, and then do a wind barb plot over that. Otherwise, send a note to Tim and address this issue with him.

Randy


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 9:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
No i do not plot the Wind barbs with the station plots. The windbarbs are ploted using the "ploting wind barbs" rather then vectors. I forgot the command because i am at work. But it is all good. i think i should include all the ASOS data as well into that equation so that i will get better data on the edges. I just used the TTU mesonet sites!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: plots
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 9:22 pm 
Hmmm! TTU mesonet sites? Maybe I could check them out. Got a link for me to follow?

RG


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 9:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
http://www.mesonet.ttu.edu/ is the site

http://www.mesonet.ttu.edu/tech/1-output/latest1.txt is the data for DAWS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group