The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Simple Error?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:14 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 12
Location: Houston, TX
Hi all,

I am currently trying to move scripts from DA 2000 to DAWS and for some reason, I can not get this script to work in DAWS to save my life. It seems to be very straight forward but I seem to still be doing something wrong.

This script is supposed to load a certain map, plot topography, then overlay the latest surface plots. When I tried this in DAWS, it does not load the map, it just stays on the map that was loaded at startup. It also does not load the topograhy. All it does is plot the surface obs, but as I said above, it can't switch maps. Below is a bit of my script. Any suggestions?

LOAD,Indonesia
TOPO
PRODUCT,plf,0
STAMP
EXPORT,c:\maps\web\indonesia.jpg
LOAD,Asia (Middle East)
TOPO
PRODUCT,plf,0
STAMP
EXPORT,c:\maps\web\mideast.jpg
LOAD,Europe (South)
TOPO
PRODUCT,plf,0
STAMP
EXPORT,C:\maps\web\med.jpg

ect.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:48 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 155
There are many changes in how DAWS operates compared to DA2000. You should probably read the manual for details. That said, "load" has been replaced with "import,XXX.dmf", where XXX.dmf is the name/location of your map.

hth,
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 2:44 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 12
Location: Houston, TX
Ahh! I thought I had changed that. It just goes to show you that a fresh set of eyes can really help.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 2:46 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 12
Location: Houston, TX
Now that I can get the maps to switch ok, I still can't get DAWS to plot the topography.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 3:10 am 
Just out of curiosity, what sort of map dimensions do you use for your indonesian map?

Pat


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 3:23 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 155
You're probably better off importing a planetary map, than drawing topography. You'll get a better looking product, imo. Admittedly, there's not a huge selection out there but there are a few good ones.

hth,
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 3:45 am 
Either what Bob said (one blue marble map looks ok), or I'll do one for you based on my own maps..and your dimensions:) I'd give you my planetary maps, but they take a bit to import.

I've done up a more printer friendly version map this evening. I'll post them both for you if you would give a hint as to the image dimensions you are looking at.

Pat


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:48 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 12
Location: Houston, TX
The image that I am working on is 1024 for the width by 768 for the height. If you could post another with an 800 by 600 dimension as well it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again,

Matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:57 pm 
Links for the Indonesian maps:

http://webpages.charter.net/wistorms/800X600.ZIP

http://webpages.charter.net/wistorms/1024X768.ZIP

I need to do a couple of pixel shift on one of the Southern Hemisphere tiles in the printer friendly map..so it wasn't as done as I thought:) anyway I'll try to finish it up this evening...


Pat


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 12:57 am 
Link for the last two Indonesian maps:

http://webpages.charter.net/wistorms/Indo_GB.ZIP

Both map sizes are in the same zip.

Pat


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group