The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:53 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SPAWN
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:54 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
Hello

I did a quick test with the spawn command in a script to call another script but this does not work (error message). Is this command not intend to work in this way?

Greetings

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:28 pm 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 511
It does work...we have been using it routinely on a real-time hurricane plotter.

It is possible the process may be spawning in a hidden window. If not, try changing that number on the end (past the second comma) and see if that works.

SPAWN,c:\st\special\process.bat,,1

Let me know -- maybe we need to adjust the documentation.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
Hello Tim

It does not work. I start the following script:
erase
SPAWN,D:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\scripts\HSFC_Dewpoint_Plot_Fill_2.dsf,,1

If ,,1 is omitting I get an error message that sounds that you MUST use the mode.
If mode = 0 nothing happens on the screen.
If mode = 1 notepad is opened with the content of the called script.
If mode = 2 same as 1 but now on the background.
If mode = 3 same as 1.

A reason is perhaps that you call a .bat-file and I call a script .dsf-file.

Greetings

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 11:30 pm 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 511
I guess I didn't make it clear, but SPAWN launches a Windows application. Your example does the equivalent of going into the Dig Atm script directory with Windows File Explorer and double-clicking on that .dsf file. Windows doesn't know what to do with it, so it fails.

SPAWN is designed for applications, batch files, and so forth.

I'll go in and add more info in the docs about this.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
Maybe you might be able to come up with a Satillite Generater and we can use the Spwan comman and make our own Sattillites!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: SPAWN
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:54 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
I saw that you were calling a .bat file but I was hoping that it was also possible to call a script. In this way my greatest wish in DAWS would be fulfilled! This because I still think that calling scripts from a "superscript" is the only way to keep scripts maintainable.

Greetings

Fred

PS. I don't understand the remark about "satellite generator" from wxforecaster.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 6:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
I just think it would be cool is somehow Tim might be come up Sat Generator for 1km Sat Images! Right now i am using DuPage's but i would much rather produce my own! I am writing scripts right now for them, it is just instead of having College of DuPage, it would be cool with wxforecaster instead!

I just think with that SPAWN comand is a GREAT, and i mean GREAT addition to DAWS!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
ALL that i have to say is OMG, this SPAWN command RULES!!!!!!!! I love it to death! Sorry i just had to say that. I just made a kick ass script with it and it copys over files so so FAST!!!! LOVE IT!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 2:10 am 
Works rather well...what are you using it for?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 6:32 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
copy image1 to image2 .. there are like 48 images and about to be over 100's soon!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group