The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:41 pm 
I believe I had some difficulty earlier last year over this problem, and while I did get help, now it's not working for me as it was. I need to get this up and running for the severe weather season start in April.

Please contact me offlist at "forecaster@charter.net"

Randy


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:50 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:29 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Caribou, Maine USA
When you get it figured out I would be interested in seeing the script...if you would post it here it would help.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:16 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 1:59 pm
Posts: 57
Location: SE Oklahoma
I removed the trailing blanks and it works fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 7:43 pm 
Okay, here is the script, without the "blanks" in it. The problem is that the maps it should be using are not being used. Instead, the grey outlines of states without counties are being used.

load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\arx100base.dmf
RADAR,BREF2,ARX GRB MPX
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\baseradararx100.gif
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\grb100base.dmf
RADARPLOT
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\baseradargrb100.gif
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\regionalbase.dmf
RADARPLOT
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\baseradarregional.gif
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\arx100.bat,,1
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\grb100.bat,,1
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\regional100.bat,,1
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\arx100base.dmf
RADAR,BVEL2,ARX GRB MPX
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\basevelarx100.gif
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\grb100base.dmf
RADARPLOT
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\basevelgrb100.gif
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\regionalbase.dmf
RADARPLOT
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\basevelregional.gif
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\arxvel100.bat,,1
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\grbvel100.bat,,1
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\regionalvel100.bat,,1
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\arx100base.dmf
RADAR,OHP,ARX GRB MPX
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\basepreciparx100.gif
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\grb100base.dmf
RADARPLOT
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\baseprecipgrb100.gif
load,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\regionalbase.dmf
RADARPLOT
stamp
export,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\baseprecipregional.gif
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\arxprecip100.bat,,1
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\grbprecip100.bat,,1
SPAWN,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\radarloop\Stevens Point\regionalprecip100.bat,,1
timeron

I need it to use maps with county outlines as well as cities plotted as well.
Any thoughts?

Randy


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:37 am 
Here is the script, any takers?

Randy


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:25 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:11 pm
Posts: 34
Location: UK
Randy,

Without the .bat files, there's not much anybody can do with your script.

Are they available for download anywhere?

Les


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:05 am 
Les,

I think I have them on my hard drive yet. Do you need them? If so, then write me off list and I'll send them to you.

forecaster@charter.net

Randy


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:48 pm 
Les wrote:
Without the .bat files, there's not much anybody can do with your script.

Are they available for download anywhere?

Les


Les, Tim Vasquez posted this a while back. It explains the batch file and what else you will need for it to work properly.

Pat

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Digital Atmosphere does not have an animator built in yet, but you can do it in an automated manner like this.

Write a batch file in MS-DOS containing these commands.
Code:

composite -compose xor -dissolve 50 basemap.gif baseradar.gif gif:radar.gif
copy frame1.gif frame0.gif
copy frame2.gif frame1.gif
copy frame3.gif frame2.gif
copy radar.gif frame3.gif
convert -delay 50 frame0.gif -delay 50 frame1.gif -delay 50 frame2.gif -delay 200 frame3.gif -loop 0 radarloop.gif



(be careful, there should be only six lines above]http://www.imagemagick.org/script/index.php[/url]

But lucky for you, I've thinned out the mess of distributables to just a dozen key files, which you can get at:
http://www.weathergraphics.com/dl/convert.zip
Unzip these to the SAME directory where you will be running the batch file (or put in their own directory and change the Windows path in your system setup to point to that directory).

The ImageMagick library is quite powerful, and there's no limit to what it can do with a good batch file. With the radar upload hack I posted earlier, you can put animated radar on your server quite easily... running your own Weathertap site.

Tim


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:53 pm 
This is the radar upload hack Tim mentioned in the above

Pat

--------------------------------------------------------------------

A few days ago we were posting hourly maps, compositing US and Mexican radar looking like this:
http://www.weathergraphics.com/images/emily2007.gif

Here's how it was done:

A script file with these contents was executed in the Digital Atmosphere schedule hourly:
Code:

BLANK
ERASE
IMPORTRADAR
ERASE
RADAR,br248,bro hgx dfx epz
DOWNLOAD
HURRICANE
HURRMODEL,2
PRODUCT,plf,0,Wind and SST
EXPORT,c:\st\special\weathermap.gif
EXPORT,c:\st\special\emily@HHZ@MMZ.gif
SPAWN,c:\st\special\process.bat,,1



The spawn command executed a batch file at c:\st\special\process.bat with this:
Code:

ftp -s:upload.scr http://www.stormtrack.org



This executed the following script, upload.scr:
Code:

ourlogin
ourpassword
cd stormtrack.org/special
bin
hash
prompt
mput weathermap.gif
bye


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group