The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:20 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:21 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 58
Location: Jersey City, NJ
OK. I'm trying to automaticaly import data, plot it, export it, and send it off to an FTP. After weeks of trying things, I finally got the exporting and FTP thing working (I'm not relaly sure what it wasn't working before).

I'm having a problem with the data importing. At first I was having trouble when you import the data and you have to list where to store it - I could not access my D:\ drive, so under "data" in C:\ I duplicated incoming.asc and made "fronts" "obs" etc.

It actually worked once. The entire process.

However, the next time I told it to do that, it would not import the new data (or it would but it would not overwrite the file). When I downloaded it manually, I went to plot surface obs and it only gave me some buoy data (I made sure multiple times to make sure I was downloading ONLY METAR. It would not plot surface obs anymore.

NOW when I download data, even manually, it won't download any METAR. It skips right over it even when it's checked (I've tried every source listed), and when it goes to plot it it plots the wrong time and nothingk shows up.

I've been trying to get this working for over 2 months and it's really frustrating because it just stopped working on it's own. I tried "Clear Data Directory" but I think all that did was cause more problems.

Does anyone know how ot make it import data, and at this point, import any data AT ALL?! :x :x :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:13 pm
Posts: 252
Post the script and i will look at it. See what is wrong OR see what is right!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:26 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 58
Location: Jersey City, NJ
I actually guess I shouldn't have posted this in the scripting forum, since I got the script working fine.

Even now when I MANUALLY download the data, it just doesn't do the METAR. When I go to plot, it doesn't plot anything.

I downloaded the .TXT file from the NWS and imported it manually and that worked but I can't constantly be doing that.

Here is the script, although nothing is wrong with it.

erase
load,Northeast.DMF
download,[url]http://www.hpc.ncep.noaa.gov/discussions/codsus,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
download,[url]http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/sao/@Y@M@D@H_sao.wmo,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\neobs.gif
load,Southeast.DMF
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\southeast.gif
load,Southwest.DMF
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\southwest.gif
load,Northwest.DMF
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\northwest.gif
load,SouthCentral.DMF
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\southcentral.gif
load,NorthCentral.DMF
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\northcentral.gif
load,Rockies.DMF
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
product,wxp,0,fronts
import,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\incoming.asc
product,plf,0,surface plots
product,slp,0,surface pressure
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=4 LINE=1 COLOR=0:0:0 SLPR
stamp
export,c:\rockies.gif
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/neobs.gif,c:\neobs.gif[/url]
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/southeast.gif,c:\southeast.gif[/url]
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/southwest.gif,c:\southwest.gif[/url]
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/northwest.gif,c:\northwest.gif[/url]
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/southcentral.gif,c:\southcentral.gif[/url]
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/northcentral.gif,c:\northcentral.gif[/url]
upload,[url]ftp://***:***@ftp.americanwx.com/public_html/daws/rockies.gif,c:\rockies.gif[/url]

As I said, it worked once. I'm not sure why I can't access my D:\ drive, it puts up a recovery partition when I try to enter it. I went into "data" and copied incoming.asc and renamed it, but that has since stopped working, along with all METAR's. When I download the fronts manually it works, but when I put it in the script, send it to fronts.asc, and import it, it didn't work.

GRR.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 58
Location: Jersey City, NJ
OK. Now I'm relaly going crazy. It just plotted the 22Z surface data that I imported before I believe manually by the NWS, although I can't remember if I did that. The fronts are old, but that may be because they only update every 3 hours. They plotted but I think it's old data, since it should be on 23Z right now, right?

Oh damn, with Daylights Savings Time maybe I'm off. But still, I'm really lost. I know I didn't just solve my problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:57 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
Hello

Your script is not completely correct. A few hints.
- combine all the downloads in the beginning
- change import into INGEST
- remove ALL other imports from the script.

The beginning of the script can look like this:
erase
download,[url]http://www.hpc.ncep.noaa.gov/discussions/codsus,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\fronts.asc
download,[url]http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/sao/@Y@M@D@H_sao.wmo,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\surface.asc
INGEST,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\*.asc
load,Northeast.DMF
product,wxp,0,fronts
etc.

You can make a copy from the script and copy the above into it. Don't forget to remove the trailing spaces.
I'm not sure if the first download will work: I am missing the filename on the server.

Success

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 58
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Thanks. I'm using my other computer that I'm not running the FTP on (my brother is using it) so I can't try out the script right now, but do you think changing IMPORT to INGEST will allow new data to be plotted? Something was wrong with my computer, with Daylights Savings Time, but I believe I got that fixed. It is downloading data again (I think - it was last night) but it was still plotting old data. Maybe changing it to INGEST will help, along with your other suggestions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:01 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
IMPORT is the command to import a map, INGEST for importing the data to be plotted. See page 110-111 of the manual.

Combining all downloads in the beginning and use a *.asc in the INGEST has the effect that for the whole script all data is present to plot. Therefor you can remove all the other imports (which are already useless).

Greetings

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group