The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:01 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:58 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
I`m running a script which calls up five different basemaps, then plots isobars and frontal depictions.

Now I`m a little rusty with DAWS scripting, not having touched the software for a few months.

Anyways, I just wrote this script up and no doubt I have made a few boo-boos!! Problem is my eyes are now strained!!

I don`t need to run the ingest commands for each basemap, correct? I`m just trying to cut down on unnecessary ram/cpu usage!

The script works fine, however from the second basemap onwards the frontal depictions are not being plotted. The isobars display for all the maps. Something is over-riding the frontal plot command?

Any other improvements would also be appreciated :)

Quote:
erase
load,C:\My Documents\basemaps\canada.dmf
download,[url]http://www.hpc.ncep.noaa.gov/discussions/codsus,C:\My[/url] Documents\data\fronts.dat
download,[url]http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/syn/@Y@M@D@S_syn.wmo,C:\My[/url] Documents\data\synop.dat
download,[url]http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/boy/@Y@M@D@H_boy.wmo,C:\My[/url] Documents\data\synbuoy.dat
ingest,C:\My Documents\data\fronts.dat
product,wxp,0,fronts
ingest,C:\My Documents\data\syn*.dat
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=64:64:64 LINE=1 SLPR
import,C:\My Documents\basemaps\surfaceanaloverlay.gif
stamp
export,C:\My Documents\products\canada_surface.gif
upload,ftp://to-my-website!!/public_html/da/surface/surface.gif,C:\My Documents\products\canada_surface.gif
erase
load,C:\My Documents\basemaps\east_canada.dmf
product,wxp,0,fronts
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=64:64:64 LINE=1 SLPR
import,C:\My Documents\basemaps\surfaceanaloverlay.gif
stamp
export,C:\My Documents\products\east_surface.gif
upload,ftp://to-my-website!!/public_html/da/surface/east_surface.gif,C:\My Documents\products\east_surface.gif
erase
load,C:\My Documents\basemaps\west_canada.dmf
product,wxp,0,fronts
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=64:64:64 LINE=1 SLPR
import,C:\My Documents\basemaps\surfaceanaloverlay.gif
stamp
export,C:\My Documents\products\west_surface.gif
upload,ftp://to-my-website!!/public_html/da/surface/west_surface.gif,C:\My Documents\products\west_surface.gif
erase
load,C:\My Documents\basemaps\arctic_canada.dmf
product,wxp,0,fronts
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=64:64:64 LINE=1 SLPR
import,C:\My Documents\basemaps\surfaceanaloverlay.gif
stamp
export,C:\My Documents\products\arctic_surface.gif
upload,ftp://to-my-website!!/public_html/da/surface/arctic_surface.gif,C:\My Documents\products\arctic_surface.gif
erase
load,C:\My Documents\basemaps\north_america.dmf
product,wxp,0,fronts
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=64:64:64 LINE=1 SLPR
import,C:\My Documents\basemaps\surfaceanaloverlay.gif
stamp
export,C:\My Documents\products\na_surface.gif
upload,ftp://to-my-website!!/public_html/da/surface/na_surface.gif,C:\My Documents\products\na_surface.gif


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Me too!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:16 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:02 pm
Posts: 3
britbob:
I am also running into the same issue.':?'
Confused
If I have a basemap open (default) and I start the script: I see a flash on the screen of the map I inteneded to load (via the script) but it then reverts back to the one that loaded by default.

It then plots the data incorrectly on the default loaded map.
It is as if the map I attempted to load does not stay loaded.

A Snipit of my code:

# --------------------------------------------------------------------
# Fetch-Ingest
# --------------------------------------------------------------------
DOWNLOAD,[url]http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/sao/@Y@M@D@H.sao,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\sao.dat
INGEST,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\sao.dat
DOWNLOAD,[url]http://www.hpc.ncep.noaa.gov/discussions/codsus,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\frt.dat
INGEST,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\frt.dat
DOWNLOAD,[url]http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/@Y@M@D@I.syn,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\syn.dat
INGEST,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\syn.dat

# --------------------------------------------------------------------
# Load-Plot-Print US-WHT-RDR.dmf
# --------------------------------------------------------------------
LOAD,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\US-WHT-RDR.dmf
#LOAD,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\Rockies-WHT-ICAO.dmf
#LOAD,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\CO-WHT-ICAO.dmf
#LOAD,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\NE-CO-WHT-ICAO.dmf
ERASE
STAMP
ANALYZE,OVER FILL GRTN=50 COLOR=150:255:120 CONT CINT=5 EQUA=50 COLOR=0:255:0 LINE=2 DEGF DWPT
ANALYZE,CONT CINT=10 EQUA=50 COLOR=0:150:0 LINE=2 CONT GRTN=50 CINT=10 COLOR=0:150:0 CONT LSTN=50 CINT=5 COLOR=0:150:0 DASH DEGF DWPT
ANALYZE,CONT EQUA=70 COLOR=200:0:0 LINE=3 CONT GRTN=70 CINT=10 COLOR=200:0:0 LINE=1 DEGF TEMP
ANALYZE,CONT CINT=10 COLOR=0:128:255 DADD=2 SLPR
ANALYZE,HILO
SLEEP,3
PRODUCT,wxp
SLEEP,3
PRODUCT,plf
PRINT

<SNIP>
etc ... etc . . .

Is this a bug? Or are we both missing something?
Gregory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
I see in both scripts more ingests. This means that you always have only the info of the LAST ingest!
Better is more downloads and then one ingest with *.dat.

Greetings

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Hi Fred,

I should have updated this thread. I figured it out a few days ago by removing all ingest commands but one. I realised each ingest was wiping out the previous one and causing me problems.

Works great now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:28 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:02 pm
Posts: 3
Ok: I have changed the following:
# --------------------------------------------------------------------
# Fetch-Ingest
# --------------------------------------------------------------------
DOWNLOAD,[url]http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/sao/@Y@M@D@H.sao,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\sao.dat
DOWNLOAD,[url]http://www.hpc.ncep.noaa.gov/discussions/codsus,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\frt.dat
DOWNLOAD,[url]http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/@Y@M@D@I.syn,C:\Program[/url] Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\syn.dat
INGEST,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\data\*.dat

Then I load the map:
LOAD,C:\Program Files\DigitalAtmosphereWS\US-WHT-RDR.dmf

Then Plot & Print with:
ERASE
STAMP
ANALYZE,OVER FILL GRTN=50 COLOR=150:255:120 CONT CINT=5 EQUA=50 COLOR=0:255:0 LINE=2 DEGF DWPT
ANALYZE,CONT CINT=10 EQUA=50 COLOR=0:150:0 LINE=2 CONT GRTN=50 CINT=10 COLOR=0:150:0 CONT LSTN=50 CINT=5 COLOR=0:150:0 DASH DEGF DWPT
ANALYZE,CONT EQUA=70 COLOR=200:0:0 LINE=3 CONT GRTN=70 CINT=10 COLOR=200:0:0 LINE=1 DEGF TEMP
ANALYZE,CONT CINT=10 COLOR=0:128:255 DADD=2 SLPR
ANALYZE,HILO
SLEEP,3
PRODUCT,wxp
SLEEP,3
PRODUCT,plf
PRINT

<SNIP>

But it still does not keep the "LOAD"ed file loaded, it reverts to the default and the the plots come out wrong . . .
It plots the data each time on the defaulted loaded map . . .

Any ideas?
Gregory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:22 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Suoi Tien, Vietnam
Load give the georeferencing data. After that you must give an IMPORT command like:
IMPORT, C:\Map\test.jpg

Greetings

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:22 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:02 pm
Posts: 3
Got it!
Thank you All!

Gregory. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group