The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:33 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Learning scripting
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Hi,

I`m on day 12 of my evaluation, and after working through a few problems I`m having my last one is how to get the most from `automating` DAWS before I get my credit card out.

I`m happy with the quality of mapping from DAWS, and just about got the maps how I want them. Now I need to take the next step to scripting :O

Where the heck do I find out about DAWS scripts? I know nothing about them. The main reason I want DAWS is so I can plot maps, but the other reason is I want to leave it unattended (plot maps and ftp) while I`m at work. I generally want to run charts several times a day maybe more, and upload them to my site.

I haven`t got a clue where to start though, and it looks a little daunting!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 3:20 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Guys,

I`m a complete novice when it comes to DAWS, so I could do with some advice on trying to automate the software. I`m after generating SLP charts (and maybe some upper air), and ftp`ing them to my site at intervals.

Is this a big task??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 2:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 155
There's a file that comes with DAWS that describes the scripting process, it's called manual.pdf. Most of what you're after begins with the appendix on page 108, you should certainly give it a look.

That said, scripting is a pretty straight-forward affair...there's the script itself and then there's the script scheduler which acts as the timer or automator. For example, to make a SLP map you could use something like the following...

Code:
erase
download,http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/@Y@M@D@I.syn,d:\daws\data\synop.dat
download,http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/data1/surface/boy/@Y@M@D@H_boy.wmo,d:\daws\data\synbouy.dat
ingest,d:\daws\data\syn*.dat
ANALYZE,HIID CONT EQUA=1048 COLOR=10:70:200 CONT EQUA=1044 COLOR=10:80:215 CONT EQUA=1040 COLOR=15:85:230 CONT EQUA=1036 COLOR=25:100:240 CONT EQUA=1032 COLOR=25:115:235 CONT EQUA=1028 COLOR=59:130:250 CONT EQUA=1024 COLOR=45:155:250 CONT EQUA=1020 COLOR=45:165:220 CONT EQUA=1012 COLOR=130:175:100 CONT EQUA=1016 COLOR=0:167:180 CONT EQUA=1008 COLOR=185:178:75 LINE=2 SLPR
ANALYZE,LOWD CONT EQUA=1004 COLOR=230:160:55 CONT EQUA=1000 COLOR=235:120:45 CONT EQUA=996 COLOR=220:92:20 CONT EQUA=992 COLOR=220:65:40 CONT EQUA=988 COLOR=220:42:80 CONT EQUA=984 COLOR=209:25:80 CONT EQUA=980 COLOR=190:25:80 CONT EQUA=976 COLOR=175:25:100 CONT EQUA=972 COLOR=177:20:112 CONT EQUA=968 COLOR=179:20:123 CONT EQUA=964 COLOR=180:10:140 LINE=2 SLPR
product,plf,0,Synop Plots
STAMP
export,d:\daws\maps\surface.bmp


This particular script downloads synoptic observations, ingests the data, color contours SLP in 4mb increments, plots the data, adds a timestamp, and then exports the chart to a file called surface.bmp. If you want to use this script for yourself, you'll have to do a couple of things. 1. You need to change the location of the data directory to match your own system...in my case DAWS is loaded onto my D: drive, yours may be different. 2. You'll have to give this script a name and then reference it in the script scheduler when you want it to run...like every 6 hours to coincide when synoptic observations are taken.

DAWS scripting is a very powerful feature...it just takes a little study, but once learned, you can do just about everything "hands-free".

If you have further questions, feel free to ask.

hth,
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Thanks Bob,

Before I download a PDF reader to open the manual, I guess DAWS also has ftp capabilities?

That was my main interest, to automate the software completely. Effectively generate and upload maps while I`m at work!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 155
I believe DAWS supports normal or "active" ftp, but not "passive". Now, don't ask me about the differences between the two because I have no idea what either one means. I'm just pretty sure that this is the case.

hth,
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Thanks Bob,

Spent the last few hours on this, I believe I`m really starting to get to grips with this. Surprising how quick it can be picked up.

One question?

Where it `stamps/writes` in the bottom left hand corner sea level pressure, Digital Atmosphere etc. Can this be replaced with an image of my own? I understand that I would probably need to purchase the software, but was curious. I`ll be buying it at the end of the trial anyway, very impressed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 155
I believe that the little info box can't be altered, but I'm not positive. I'll look into it some more.

hth,
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Thanks, I`ve seen a few sites replacing that bottom left detail with their own logos etc. Trying to figure out how they do that.

Failing that, how would I edit the font for that area, within a script. I understand how to change it through preferences but that does nothing when a script runs.

Would be great if I could add my site name somewhere on the image, especially since I intend to buy the license.

Again, all your help has been appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 5:58 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 155
I don't think changing the font via a script is possible. If you see any changes to that area, it was probably accomplished in a graphics program or through some other method.

hth,
Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group