The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:31 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:29 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Caribou, Maine USA
Is there a command/method using scripting that allows us to mosaic data from specific Canadian & US radars and applies the filtering technique that will automatically mosaic the radar data by only plotting a polygon when it originates from the nearest radar site.

I am trying to avoid the problems in the below images. The first is a US radar mosaic which looks great, the second is a Canadian radar mosaic which looks great....but the third mosaic shows the problems with the color scheme when they are mosaic'ed together. Look at the over lapping areas. Any ideas on how I can get this to work?

Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:54 pm 
Offline
Administrator

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 511
The problem is that these radars are processed in Digital Atmosphere independently and separately, so there is a clash with the palette. I will make a note in my programming list to work on a fix for this. I'm glad to see the Canadian radar data is working out well so far.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Hello Hendricusl,

I see you`ve managed to do an effective job of masking the range rings from the Canadian imports. May I get some tips on this?

I`ve tried playing around with the threshold and rangering settings, but the range rings and even city names are always visible on my maps.

I just imported this image from the Chipman station in New Brunswick. As you can see, the outer red ring is visible as are the inner white rings. If you look carefully you can see the location names showing up too (I marked one in red).

If I could get rid of these I would be an extremely happy camper!!

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:29 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Caribou, Maine USA
The only thing I did was get rid of the outer Range Ring (red one) by editing the digatmos.rdy file changing the RANGERING=1 to RANGERING=0. I then changed all RNG settings to no more then 250. The other white range rings and city names are still present in mine but I think they are not as apparent because I am not zoomed in as much as you are in your example.

I am hoping Tim continues to develop this feature as us who live near the border have a need to be able to composite these radars "cleanly".


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group