The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:58 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 2:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Roanoke, VA
Not many new stations, but I like to do an update at least by four months from last one.

KBKD Breckenridge/Stephens Co. TX
KGWB Auburn IN
KF12 Henderson-Rusk Co. TX
K3FM Fremont Municipal MI
K4I3 Mount Vernon OH

See prior posts for update instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Sabir
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:16 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, This post is very informative, however I would like some specific information. If someone can help me then please send me a private message. Best Regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 8:28 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Roanoke, VA
Well, time for another update.

KXSA Tappahannock VA
KEFK Newport VT*
KFSO Hightgate VT
KABH Ellicott AFA CA
KPRO Perry IA
KHWY Warrenton VA
KMQA Coatesville/Chester Co PA*
KECS Newcastle WY
KDVK Danville KY
KW43 Hulett Muni WY

* means ID change rather than addition. Old ID won't plot, though.

Link for updated file is

http://www.weatherroanoke.com/digatmos.stn

Copy this file into your DA parent folder
Then under FILE choose Recompile Tables, choose recommended next. Let 'er rip, and you are updated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 3:20 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 3:11 am
Posts: 27
When I recompiled the tables, I got this error message: Digital Atmosphere encountered an error: Access violation at address 00552131 in module 'digatmos.exe'. Read of address 00000000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 11:30 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Roanoke, VA
Hmmmm. Try re-downloading it, and recompile. It's working here (on two different computers), and it appears that 45 have already downloaded it with no problems.

Make sure you put file in parent directory of DAEq (back up old first).

If you absolutely can't get it to work, let me know, and I'll send you the previous version, so you can be operational (assuming any prior versions will now compile for you).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 1:51 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 3:11 am
Posts: 27
What is interesting is that when I use the map configuration window and center it on stations like KECS or KPRO, it recognizes those cities, so it (in my opinion) accepted the new file. However, it does not plot the current weather for those stations. I have seen that sometimes these stations like KECS do not report in a timely fashion. KDVK seems to have an eternal -54 dewpoint. In fact, I don't think KECS is listed in the http://weather.noaa.gov/pub/data/observations/metar/cycles/@HZ.TXT file. I did make a backup with the old file, but all of the previous stations still do plot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 11:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Roanoke, VA
Yes, Danville, KY seems to have a bad dewpoint report. There's a station in south AL that seems to have a bad pressure report. I wish they would not allow these to go on so long.

For KECS ... well, there are a number of part-times stations. There are some stations that do METARS during a portion of the day, or some stations only are augmented a portion of the day (there is one in MD). Synoptic hour files are always a bit larger, so there are more reports in them. I usually do the updating based on a 6 hour report.

Just look at your directory, and if the following files have approx. the same time stamp, you may be fine.

digatm.sti
digatm.stn
digatm.stw
digatm.sxi
digatm.rix


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 9:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 3:11 am
Posts: 27
1) What are the purpose of SYNOP reports if they only come in every six hours?

2) I've noticed the 'Buoy from Albany (worldwide)' is reporting observations on an hourly basis instead of every six hours. Has something changed?

3) The time stamps on all of those files are nearly identical.

My fault:

Cities such as Perry, IA (KPRO) do plot on my map. I never had 'Integrated MADIS data U.S. from NOAA (BIG file)' checked off on the 'Data Retrieval Window'.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Roanoke, VA
SYNOP is more full world oriented. Many places only do SYNOP only every, say, 3 hours. You got to remember ... not ALL other countries value wx info as much as we do. Even Mexico exhibits this, and you can only get surface pressure every 3 hours there.

Yes, most buoys do hourly weather. At least US sponsored ones.

Hmmm, I usually use Albany or UCSD, or FSU or NOAA for METARS.
For some reason I cannot use the NOAA surface reports with the AUDIT program. It's format is incompatible it appears.

I use a synoptic hour for database comparison just in case some peculiar station only reports METARS then (who know about some non-standard stations?).

I don't do much DATA RETRIEVAL menu operations (I almost always do scripts), so I can't speak to something that may occur different there, and I have discovered very small discrepancies ... such as you can get Puerto Rico radar at 248nm extended with radar MENU, but not in a script (Tim knows about this one).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Roanoke, VA
Time for a new station update.
Here are the new ones/changes:

KXSA Tappahannock VA
KEFK Newport VT*
KFSO Highgate VT
KABH Ellicott AFA CO
KPRO Perry IA
KHWY Warrenton VA
KMQS Coatesville/Chester Co PA
KECS Newcastle WY
KDVK Danville KY
KW43 Hulett Muni WY
KY63 Elbow Lake MN
KEZS Shawano WI
KDZJ Blairsville GA
KRFI Henderson TX* (was KF12)
KCVB Castroville TX* (was KT89)

* denotes change in ID. Old ID will NOT plot anymore.

File is at
http://www.weatherroanoke.com/digatmos.stn

It should work in DAWS and DA2000, but backup old files first anyway.
Put in main folder, then RECOMPILE TABLES under FILE menu.
As usual, this has all prior updates included - MANY ID additions/changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 14  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group