The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fleetcode problem
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:50 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:55 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Perth, Scotland, UK
I am posting this on behalf of "Budgie" , well known and trusted from several forums, most notably the Weather Display forum. His registration on this forum is taking a little while to be confirmed.
Chris

Quote:
I got DA about a month ago and have created a surface pressure & wind vector chart that I'm uploading to my site. I would like to add the Fronts onto the pressure chart but I can't seem to get the Fleetcode data to download. DA looks for the data set but just finds a blank page when I use the following in the script:

download,[url]http://ftp.hb-yacht.ch/ASXX21.@D@S00,C:\Documents[/url] and Settings\.....etc etc

I can find the data if I replace the "@D@S00" with the correct date & synop time but DA doesn't seem to do this with the coding.

Any assistance to get this working would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 219
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
You probably have your scheduler set at the wrong times for the Fleetcode. See my post a little bit further down about Fleetcode times.

Good luck with the forum registration, Tim doesn`t come on here much anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:40 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Mid-Wales
I agree, and download Fleetcode everyday at 2100 GMT for the 1800 synoptic hour.
Generally wait at least 2 hours after synoptic hour before trying to download Fleetcode as it isn't always available until 1-2 hours later.

The script is fine and I use exactly the same syntax without problems.

Regards Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fleetcode problem
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:02 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Lochaber, Scotland
Hi All,

Thanks to Chris for posting this for me and to those who have answered so far, also thanks to Tim for updating the forum and now that I can post then I can explain the problem a little better.

I still don't seem to be able to get DA to download the Fleetcode, it looks for it but doesn't actually download anything.
Here's the code that I'm trying to use:
Code:
download,http://ftp.hb-yacht.ch/ASXX21.@D@S00,C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\Local Settings\Application Data\DigitalAtmosphere\data\front.wmo
ingest,C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\Local Settings\Application Data\DigitalAtmosphere\data\front.wmo
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=255:000:000 LINE=2 SLPR
product,wxp,0,fronts
stamp


I run DA v2.07 after WXSim and upload the forecasts from WXSim and the charts from DA at the same time.
DA currently runs at the following times:
2350, 0250, 0550, 0850, 1150, 1405, 1750 and 2150 (these times are all UTC +1)

I'm still new to DA so there's a good chance that I've got something wrong somewhere. Peter, I read you posts about the timing of the downloads, would DA not just pick up the latest one on the site and what are the best times for downloading the Fleetcode?

Thanks again,

Martin.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fleetcode problem
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:48 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Mid-Wales
Martin,

I download many files at the same time and therefore use a download script but part of that script is for Fleetcode as follows:

download,http://ftp.hb-yacht.ch/ASXX21.@D@S00,C:\Documents and Settings\etc etc
download,http://www.uradio.ku.dk/~ct/eurovejr/EURO@D@S,C:\Documents and Settings

along with Upper Air, Metar, Fleetcode I 'ingest' all files and fronts are drawn in DA map.

I only download once per day at 2200hrs GMT and 99% of the times Fleetcode fronts are displayed after selection of Data>Fleetcode>Fronts. I am not sure how often they are updated.

Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fleetcode problem
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:38 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Lochaber, Scotland
Hi Peter,

I already produce a surface pressure chart (without fronts) and a wind vector chart for my website so I just need to add this into this code.

I've done a little research and it seems that the synoptics are produced every 6 hours.
So if I try altering the times on a couple of runs to, say, 0410, 1010, 1610 and 2210 and see what that produces.

I want try & stay away from running DA on the hour as there are other programs running processes at that time and I don't want reduce the level of resources available on the PC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fleetcode problem
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:20 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Mid-Wales
Martin,

after your line:
ingest,C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\Local Settings\Application Data\DigitalAtmosphere\data\front.wmo

add the Fleetcode plotting command FLEETF
and fleetcode fronts will be plotted provided they have been downloaded, that is.

the following test script works fine here:
#script to display SLP & Fleetcode
ANALYZE,HILO CONT CINT=4 COLOR=050:050:050 LINE=2 SLPR
FLEETF

The plotting commands are:
Quote:
FLEET
Plots all fleetcode information.
FLEETHL
Plots fleetcode bulletins with only highs and lows.
FLEETF
Plots fleetcode bulletins with only fronts.
FLEETI
Plots fleetcode bulletins with only isobars.


from DA Help manual.

I find I can receive fleetcodes anytime between 2100-2300 GMT as I manually download files when out at sea, as I am in the north Sea at present. Manual downloads are necessary as ourdial-up speed internet drops in and out and it isn't possible to schedule downloads due to the variability of access to internet.

Regards Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fleetcode problem
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Lochaber, Scotland
Just to close this one down.........
As you said Peter, when I added FLEETF into the script it worked fine. :mrgreen:

So, thanks for the input and thanks to Chris for posting it for me in the first place.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group