The Weather Forecasting Forum

Discussions about the latest in meteorology, programs, tools, and techniques
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:46 am 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 2
I downloaded and installed DA on 24 Feb 2011. I launched DA a couple of times after that and each time some of the surface isobars would only draw part way then go to the edge of the chart as several straight parallel lines bearing no relationship to the underlying data. Then, on 26 Feb 2011, Windows failed to start due to "recently installed device or application failure" and the computer went into recovery mode and went to a restore point. The computer has worked properly ever since but my downloaded copy of DA was deleted. I suspect my copy of DA was the problem.

My computer is a Dell Inspiron 15R N5010 with 4 GB of RAM and a 500 GB HD and Intel i3 processor purchased in Sept 2010. The OS is Windows 7 Home Premium. Security is provided by McAfee which I neglected to turn off during installation.

I would like to download and install another copy of DA but not if the same thing is likely to happen again.

Suggestions, anyone??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:32 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Lochaber, Scotland
Have you got the 32 or 64 bit version of Win7?
Have you tried downloading DA again since the system restore, it could have been a corrupted file in the download or something like that?
Also, were you running DA as administrator?
I've been running DA on the 32 bit version of Win7 for about 4 months with no issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 7:09 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Tehachapi, California
Budgie wrote:
Have you got the 32 or 64 bit version of Win7?
Have you tried downloading DA again since the system restore, it could have been a corrupted file in the download or something like that?
Also, were you running DA as administrator?
I've been running DA on the 32 bit version of Win7 for about 4 months with no issues.

I run it on windows 7 64 bit. works ok. As Budge said try down loading a new copy.
Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:49 pm 
Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 2
Hi!

Thanks for your help everyone. As suggested, I turned off my firewall and virus scanning and downloaded another copy of DA and I left them off while the installation was in progress. I am very happy to say that now I have a functional copy of DA in Windows 7. I can't prove it, of course, but it seems that my previous copy was corrupted.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group