Page 2 of 2
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:32 pm
by britbob
Yes, Fred`s script will produce the same error.
For example, if I wanted to create a surface analysis with isobars and fronts using a Canadian basemap 640x480. This would plot fine.
Following this I call up a previous made basemap of the US, with a coloured background and landmass measuring 750x570. As soon as the data is ingested, it would revert to the previous basemap or sometimes you would get a blend of two basemaps!!
Yeah, it`s annoying bug which has been mentioned several times before. Maybe Tim hasn`t seen it
I`ll post a script sample with the dmf files later for you to try out Pat.
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:53 pm
by Weasel
One thing that should work is to draw the basemap, save it, and then use the load command in the script,
You don't have to use erase or blank because it is a blank vector map (or whatever) when it is loaded. I ran a script jumping back and forth between Europe and the US (with different dimensions) using this method a while back using DA WS and never had any trouble with one map being superimposed on the other, and I never used blank or erase because a new map was loaded for each.
This might work????????????????????
Pat
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:58 pm
by Fred
Sorry but no, this is not a solution in case you use satellite images as background. They change so save them every time is not a real option.
Greetings
Fred
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 9:17 pm
by Weasel
A script like this should work as it doesn't use erase or blank, it just loads saved, blank, basemaps - the bottom line loads a blank map for your home location. This worked with both vector and shaded relief using various dimensions.
download,
http://www.atmos.albany.edu/weather/dat ... s\test.wmo
ingest,C:\obs\*.*
load,c:\test\uk.dmf
analyze,VECT COLOR=0:0:0 WIND
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=1 color=0:0:0 LINE=2 SLPR
analyze,CONT CINT=2 line=2 COLOR=200:0:0 DEGF TEMP
product,plf,0
stamp
export,c:\us\uk.jpg
load,c:\test\se.dmf
analyze,VECT COLOR=0:0:0 WIND
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=1 color=0:0:0 LINE=2 SLPR
analyze,CONT CINT=2 line=2 COLOR=200:0:0 DEGF TEMP
product,plf,0
stamp
export,c:\us\se.jpg
load,c:\test\wi.dmf
analyze,VECT COLOR=0:0:0 WIND
analyze,HILO CONT CINT=1 color=0:0:0 LINE=2 SLPR
analyze,CONT CINT=2 line=2 COLOR=200:0:0 DEGF TEMP
product,plf,0
stamp
export,c:\us\wi.jpg
load,c:\test\wi.dmf
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 9:26 pm
by britbob
Ok, here`s a script that is giving me a hard time for example. This is a ttindex script I have been playing with.
I start up fusion, and the basemap is present from my last job in the workchart. This basemap is using a coloured land and sea.
So, running the following script it loads up the new basemap (which is white with black coastline) but as soon as it begins the plot the data, the previous basemap popups. In effect it just cancels out the loaded map earlier in the script.
erase
load,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\basemaps\ttindex.dmf
ANALYZE,SSUM= 5:6 STOR=6 SDIF 3:4 STOR=5 SDIF 1:2 STOR=4 TEMP H500 STOR=3 DWPT H850 STOR=2 TEMP H500 STOR=1 TEMP H850
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=255:204:051 FILS=0 GRTN=44
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=255:204:051 FILS=0 GRTN=46
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=255:204:051 FILS=0 GRTN=48
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=204:102:000 FILS=0 GRTN=50
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=204:102:000 FILS=0 GRTN=52
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=102:000:000 FILS=0 GRTN=55
stamp
export,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\products\ttindex.png
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:43 pm
by Weasel
It's a bug with the color fill thing, which I never use (I can't see where it happens when color fill isn't used). I guess you guys were all correct:)
Pat
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:52 am
by britbob
Grrrr, this is doing my head in!! I`ve spent ages trying to find a way around this yet, it still reverts to the previous base map.
Another example below. First portion of the script creates five regional surface station maps, which plot and export fine. We then get to the second portion, where I`m calling up another basemap.
This new basemap calls up fine, then as soon as the script command hits analyze it flips back the very first basemap which is no good for this particular part of the script. The finished product ends up a mess!!
I`ve tried blank, erase and god knows what else but it doesn`t want to forget/erase the first basemap
Code: Select all
erase
load,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\basemaps\northamerica750.dmf
product,plf,0,Surface Plots
import,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\basemaps\plotsoverlay.png
stamp
export,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\products\na_plots.png
blank
load,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\basemaps\americahumidex.dmf
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=33:0:107 LSTN=0 OVER FILL COLOR=76:0:107 LSTN=3 OVER FILL COLOR=107:0:107 LSTN=6 OVER FILL COLOR=130:0:130 LSTN=9 OVER FILL COLOR=153:0:153 LSTN=12 OVER FILL COLOR=179:0:179 LSTN=15 OVER FILL COLOR=204:0:204 LSTN=18 OVER FILL COLOR=230:0:230 LSTN=21 OVER FILL COLOR=255:0:255 LSTN=24 OVER FILL COLOR=209:0:255 LSTN=27 SADC=1:50 STOR=1 HUMX
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=0:255:179 GRTN=54 OVER FILL COLOR=0:255:255 GRTN=51 OVER FILL COLOR=0:230:255 GRTN=48 OVER FILL COLOR=0:204:255 GRTN=45 OVER FILL COLOR=0:163:255 GRTN=42 OVER FILL COLOR=0:115:255 GRTN=39 OVER FILL COLOR=0:74:255 GRTN=36 OVER FILL COLOR=0:0:255 GRTN=33 OVER FILL COLOR=102:0:255 GRTN=30 OVER FILL COLOR=158:0:255 GRTN=27 SADC=1:50 STOR=1 HUMX
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=255:0:0 GRTN=84 OVER FILL COLOR=255:79:0 GRTN=81 OVER FILL COLOR=255:127:0 GRTN=78 OVER FILL COLOR=255:153:0 GRTN=75 OVER FILL COLOR=255:174:0 GRTN=72 OVER FILL COLOR=255:204:0 GRTN=69 OVER FILL COLOR=255:230:0 GRTN=66 OVER FILL COLOR=255:255:0 GRTN=63 OVER FILL COLOR=206:255:0 GRTN=60 OVER FILL COLOR=127:255:0 GRTN=57 SADC=1:50 STOR=1 HUMX
ANALYZE,OVER FILL COLOR=255:104:104 GRTN=93 OVER FILL COLOR=255:69:69 GRTN=90 OVER FILL COLOR=255:69:69 GRTN=87 SADC=1:50 STOR=1 HUMX
ANALYZE,CONT CINT=3 COLOR=192:192:192 DASH HUMX
import,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\basemaps\humidexoverlay.png
stamp
export,C:\Documents and Settings\Bob\My Documents\DAWS\products\humidex.png
erase
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:31 am
by Weasel
Post the map coordinates for each map you are using - the ones associated with the dmf files, just so a person can check the possibility of a mapping bug.
A quick glance at the script suggests you are loading/analyzing/plotting 5 maps before color shading is used. (and yes it was a quick glance). That might mean the bug is coming from color shading.................................
Thanks
Pat
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:27 pm
by britbob
Pat,
I`ve shortened that script down, so it`s less to test. It still brings up the wrong basemap etc.
All it does is call up one basemap for the surface plots, then a second basemap for the humidex contours.
It`s related to using basemaps with a coloured background. The first basemap uses a blue sea, brown landmass, while the second map is white with black coastline. Maybe it`s an overlay issue of some kind.
northamerica750.dmf: Orthographic, Lat: 60.000, Long: -95.000, Scale: 4000, Width: 750, Height: 570 (background colour: 0,49,148 Land colour: 109,95,63 outlines/boundaries are black)
americahumidex.dmf: Orthographic, Lat: 48.000, Long: -95.000, Scale: 3500, Width: 750, Height: 570 (background colour: 255,255,255 Land colour: 255,255,255 outlines/boundaries are black)